Archive for March, 2011

ASA Urges Congress to Take Comprehensive Approach to Deficit Reduction, Raises Concern About Disproportional Budget Cuts to Agriculture

The American Soybean Association (ASA) has reached out to the Chairman and Ranking Members of the House and Senate Appropriations Committees urging them to adopt a comprehensive plan for reducing deficits, and has raised concerns about disproportionate and devastating cuts to key agriculture-related programs and operating budgets for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) agencies in … Read More »

ASA Expresses Concerns about EU Renewable Energy Directive to USDA and USTR

The American Soybean Association (ASA), joined by other U.S. oilseed producer and industry organizations, has expressed serious concerns to U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Tom Vilsack and U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) Ron Kirk about the requirements of the European Union’s (EU) Renewable Energy Directive (RED), and with the impact the RED is having on … Read More »

ASA Urges Senate Finance Committee to Support Pending Trade Agreements

In advance of a Senate Finance Committee hearing on Wednesday, March 9, with United States Trade Representative, Ambassador Ron Kirk, the American Soybean Association (ASA), along with other representatives of the U.S. food and agriculture industry, reiterated support for swift passage of the pending U.S. trade agreements with Korea, Colombia and Panama. “These three trade … Read More »

ASA Voting Delegates Set Policy Direction for 2011-2012

Soybean producers from all U.S. soybean growing regions gathered in Tampa, Fla., last week to review and revise the policy direction of the American Soybean Association (ASA). One hundred thirty two producers from ASA’s 26 state affiliates served as Voting Delegates in this annual process that guides the ASA as it pursues future initiatives to … Read More »

Commodity Statement on Federal Deficit and Debt Reduction

A joint statement from: National Association of Wheat Growers President Jerry McReynolds, a wheat producer from Woodston, Kan. National Corn Growers Association President Bart Schott, a corn grower from Kulm, N.D. American Soybean Association President Alan Kemper, soybean farmer from Lafayette, Ind. National Sorghum Producers Chairman Gerald Simonsen, a sorghum grower from Ruskin, Neb. “Farmer … Read More »