National Biodiesel Board Holds Membership Meeting in DC

This week the National Biodiesel Board held its membership meeting in Washington, DC that was attended by numerous soybean grower leaders, state soybean association staff and ASA representatives. The focus of the meeting was on the push to get the biodiesel tax credit reinstated and on the Renewable Fuel Standard (RFS) volume requirements that were released by EPA on Thursday.

Keynote speakers at the meeting included Senator Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) and Senator Chuck Grassley (R-IA), both strong supporters of the biodiesel industry and our policy priorities. Sen. Grassley has been leading the charge to prevent any rollbacks of the RFS by the new EPA Administration and to get the tax credit reinstated in 2017.  The efforts are focused on getting a group of “tax extenders” included on a “must-pass” year-end package.

NBB also conducted elections for the Governing Board and for officer positions. ASA representative Mike Cunningham (IL) was re-elected by the Governing Board to serve as Vice Chairman.  Former ASA President Ron Heck (IA) was re-elected to the Governing Board along with soybean farmers Robert Stobaugh of Arkansas and Ryan Pederson of North Dakota.