ASA Elects 2024 Executive Committee, Welcomes 14 New Board Members

Dec 08, 2023

During its annual meeting in St. Louis this week, the American Soybean Association elected the committee members who will lead the organization through the coming year’s top advocacy priorities, including the farm bill, regulatory issues, the importance of the soy checkoff, conservation, and other top policy issues for U.S. soybean farmers.

Josh Gackle (ND), who previously served as ASA vice president, will serve as 2024 ASA president. Gackle began serving on ASA's board of directors in Dec. 2017. He farms 2,800 acres of soybeans and produces corn, wheat and barley.

Immediate past president Daryl Cates (IL) moves to the role of ASA chairman. Former chairman Brad Doyle (AR) rotates off the nine-member executive committee.

The ASA board elected Caleb Ragland (KY) as ASA vice president, a role that puts him in line to serve as the association’s president in 2025.

In addition, the board elected Scott Metzger (OH) as ASA secretary; Dave Walton (IA) as treasurer; Alan Meadows (TN), Ronnie Russell (MO), Heather Feuerstein (MI), and Jim Kukowski (MN) as at-large members of the executive committee.

ASA celebrated the efforts of and said goodbye to several other directors who retired this week, including Kendell Culp (IN); Wayne Fredericks (IA); Brooks Hurst (MO); Jeff Jorgenson (IA); Monte Peterson (ND); Bill Raben (IL); Joel Schreurs (MN); Pam Snelson (OK); and Bill Wykes (IL).

ASA welcomed 14 new directors who began their nine-year terms, including Tom Adam (IA); Rob Baker (MS); Paul Casper (SD); Wade Cowan (TX); Renee Fordyce (MO); Ryan Frieders (IL); Ron Kindred (IL); Keevin Lemenager (IN); Kody Leonard (OK); Randy Miller (IA); Denise Scarborough (IN); Jeffrey Sorenson (MN); Robert Stobaugh (AR); and Brad Thykeson (ND).