ASA Recognizes Theresia Gillie, MN, with Outstanding State Volunteer Award

Mar 02, 2024

Theresia Gillie

The American Soybean Association honored Theresia Gillie, Minnesota, with its Outstanding State Volunteer Award during an awards ceremony at the Commodity Classic trade show and educational event in Houston.

The Outstanding Volunteer Award recognizes the dedication and exemplary contributions of volunteers with at least three years of volunteer service in any area of their state association’s operation.

Gillie, a member and former president of the Minnesota Soybean Growers Association, served many years on the state association’s board of directors and has participated in numerous fundraising events for the organization. She also has a long history of being one of the top membership recruiters in Minnesota.

Gillie is well versed in policy issues that affect soybean producers and the industry. She has led visits with legislators in St. Paul, Minnesota, and Washington, D.C., in addition to participating in numerous Capitol Hill visits.

Gillie has served as a strong voice in advocating on issues important to soybean farmers, such as farm policy, biofuels, transportation and infrastructure, crop protection, and trade. She is not only a staunch policy advocate but also encourages her fellow farmers to engage in advocacy to achieve policy successes.

At the state level, Gillie has advocated for protecting the state’s B-20 biodiesel mandate and increasing awareness of rising health care costs.

She is also an important national advocate for “farmer mental health,” having suffered the tragic loss of her husband, Keith, by suicide.

Gillie’s peers have described her as “attentive, responsive, passionate, caring, and inspiring.” Those who know and work closely with Gillie acknowledge her skill at talking with farmers about the issues affecting them, and her commitment to promoting and strengthening the Minnesota Soybean Growers Association.

ASA congratulates Theresia Gillie, winner of the 2024 ASA Outstanding State Volunteer Award!