ASA’s Biotech Working Group Meets in Washington D.C.

Jan 31, 2013

ASA’s Biotech Working Group met Jan. 30-31 in Washington, D.C. to continue working with industry partners to advocate for the next generation of biotech soybean traits. The working group comprises farmer leaders from ASA, the United Soybean Board (USB) and the U.S. Soybean Export Council (USSEC). Together with corporate members BASF, Bayer CropScience, Dow, DuPont Pioneer, Monsanto and Syngenta, they met for discussions on the domestic and international working group’s reports and updates, U.S. regulatory environment and improvements/setbacks, a European Union (EU) biotech update, and potential future missions.

Additionally, representatives from the Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) including Dr.Cathy Enright, BIO’s executive vice president for food and agriculture, gave updates on the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) established last fall between ASA, BIO, the National Grain and Feed Association, American Seed Trade Association, National Corn Growers Association, North American Export Grain Association, Corn Refiners Association, National Oilseed Processors Association and U.S. Grains Council. The MOU brings together the resources of the participating organizations to strengthen communication throughout the value chain on biotech and marketability issues.

EU advocacy trip reports were given by ASA First Vice President Ray Gaesser and USB Directors Keith Kemp and Steve Moore.

Farmer-leader members of the 2013 Biotech Working Group are:

Wade Cowan (ASA)
Laura Foell (USB)
Ray Gaesser (ASA)
Keith Kemp (USB)
Alan Kemper (ASA)
Jim Miller (USSEC)

Steve Moore (USB)
Danny Murphy, Chairperson (ASA)
Tom Rotello (USSEC)
Steve Wellman (ASA)
Wyatt Whitford (ASA)
Richard Wilkins (ASA)