Biodiesel Tax Credit Marker Bill Introduced, House Supporters Push Leadership to Act

Apr 12, 2019

Rep. Abby Finkenauer (D-IA) has introduced a bipartisan marker bill, (HR 2089), that would provide a two-year (2018-19) extension of the $1 per gallon biodiesel and renewable diesel blenders tax credit. As of today, the House Members that have signed on as co-sponsors include: Reps. Kelly (R-PA), Kind (D-WI) Adrian Smith (R-NE), Axne (D-IA), Bustos (D-IL), Craig (D-MN), Danny Davis (D-IL), LaHood (R-IL), Loebsack (D-IA), Walorski (R-IN), DeLauro (D-CT), Pascrell (D-NJ), Larson (D-CT), Sewell (D-AL), and Pence (R-IN). The marker bill serves as a demonstration of support and, if enacted, would be part of a larger package of tax extenders or tax provisions.

Also, biodiesel supporters in the House of Representatives are preparing to send a letter to House leadership urging immediate action on the extension of the biodiesel tax credit. Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) is leading the letter along with Reps. Cheri Bustos (D-IL) and Dave Loebsack (D-IA). Thank you to all of the state soybean associations and members that have responded to the ASA Action Alert and contacted House offices to request they sign on to the letter.